Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

The Long Road of Recovery

2 Comments

I’m here on the couch on my second day home from the hospital. We were released to go home yesterday morning. It is good to be home, but also, it creates complications. The real world is hidden when you are on a hospital bed, but comes crashing down around you when you are back home. The job of being a momma and a wife greets you at the threshold. Yes, I can be told not to worry about those things and to sit down and take it easy, but any woman that has assumed these roles in her life knows that it’s not as “easy” as that. I’m trying. 

I feel good until I feel horrible. The medicine makes me sleepy. I move around a little until I feel the freight train hit me. It reminds me that I’m good for nothing right now. My mom brought us lunch and some coworkers brought supper tonight. It’s such a blessing to have people help take care of my little family. 

The Man goes back to work tomorrow. I have four weeks to get myself to 100%. I guess I should start by going back to sleep 🙂 

Goodnight!

 

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

2 thoughts on “The Long Road of Recovery

  1. Glad to hear you are on the mend. It helps to have family and friends bring food and smiles. My doctor told me to walk twelve times a day and it hurt like-well you know what it hurt like. But I started my 2nd day in the hospital–I limped down the hall till I could walk standing up straight. I read later that walking helps the body heal. I don’t know if it does but a lot of people remarked at how soon I was getting around and about. It took me about 6 months to completely get my strength back, but then I was lot older than you. You are made of strong stuff–it’s in the blood. Prayers for continued healing.

  2. Cheryl and I wish that we could be closer so we could help. You, your family and your students are in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

