Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Words from the hospital bed

2 Comments

Well, I just lost my whole post that I just typed out with an IV stuck in my hand. So this one will be shorter 😦

I am in my second day of recovery after having a supracervical hysterectomy. The cyst had the ovary twisted down and behind my uterus. It was all (to spare you the ugly details) “messy” in there. My doctor got the general surgeon to oversee the operation because the mess was all dangerously close to my bowels. The procedure ended up being about two hours long. Apparently I made it a fun morning for Dr. Wilson.

Yesterday was horrible. I was in severe pain that was not alleviated by the morphine pump, at all. By the early afternoon I asked for something extra and that helped a little. I slept well enough and having a much better day today.

I appreciate the friends that have checked on me and the family that is helping out with the girls, but I couldn’t have done it without this guy. I snapped a photo of him when he wasn’t looking.

This guy has bent over backwards for me these past few days. Helping me in and out of bed, retrieving this and that from around the room, sleeping in that little Lazyboy chair last night without complaint, and helping me with the shower this afternoon. I am thankful, beyond measure, for having this man to share with me in moments of ultimate joy… and these moments of humility and immense pain.

My first meal of solid foods just arrived, so I am going to go enjoy my supper. And then probably sleep. And sleep some more 🙂 I’m here till tomorrow afternoon. GRMC room 242, if you are looking for something to do 😉

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

2 thoughts on “Words from the hospital bed

  1. I hope your recovery is speedy. I’m glad you have “that guy” there to help you. Take care.

  2. So glad the surgery is done and that you are on the mend. You both look great–even under the circumstances of stress and surgery. Love you both! Will be praying for a speedy recovery. And strength for all of you.

Leave a Reply

