Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

“Talitha koum”

2 Comments

“Holding her hand, he said to her, “Talitha koum,” which means “Little girl, get up!” – Mark 5:41

I was (ahem), researching some tattoos 😉 when I came upon a photo of a inner wrist tattoo that read “talitha koum”. How powerfully those little words spoke to me. Jesus was speaking new life into a dead girl. The life that that was over had been made new again. That’s incredibly powerful stuff!

I am spending some time with my family in Oregon here in these few weeks before school begins again. It has been a great opportunity for me to slow down, get away from all distractions, and renew myself for the coming school year. I have another diagnostic ultrasound as soon as I come back to determine what the next step for me is. I have reached a point where I can honestly say that whatever comes is… truly okay. I am blessed woman, and I will no longer waste my life I things that I can not have or do. I will focus on what I HAVE and what I CAN do. And those lists are plentiful.

I feel as though the words “Little girl, get up!”, have been spoken over me, and there is no way I am going to ignore that command.

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

2 thoughts on ““Talitha koum”

  1. This is Beautiful. I am quite a fan of tatoos that mean something very true and special to you… not that I have one or anything 😉 I
    first heard of what “Talitha koum” meant when I was moving out of my first household. It gave me the boldness to step out on faith and trust that when I got up, God was going to brush the dust off my shoulders and walk me through the process of healing and renewal. He will Always provide and protect. So glad to see that these same words have spoken to you in such an awesome way. Praising God for how He has had His hand over you these past couple of years that have been rough and tough. I love your beautiful heart! You are superwoman without a doubt and such a Blessing! Continue to Rock It Out! Praying for this upcoming school year!

  2. Well said, Juli.

Leave a Reply

