Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Here I go again…

5 Comments

Hey.

So, it’s me. Kinda awkward starting back up from a long pause, but it is what it is, so they say. Lots of things have been going on, but I guess the biggest was the Man leaving last posted job that appeared for the one that thumped him on the forehead. We’re in the family business now. It’s been quite an adjustment. After heading one direction for a decade, it takes a little while getting used to the new view. It has been, overall, a good change though.

As for me, I’m getting better every day. I feel like I am coming out of a fog of a year. I had some false starts to “feeling better”, but a think I have my head in the game now. I’ve got my sights set on running a 5k with the Man at the end of July, so that gives me a little bit over a month to prepare. We both have our eyes on a half marathon sometime this fall/winter. We’ll see how the 5k goes and move on from there πŸ˜‰ This morning I squeaked out just under 2 miles. It’s a big improvement over feeling like death after about 50 feet a couple of weeks ago. Not doing a “program” this time. Just shoes and tunes and my thoughts. I remembered this morning why I love to run… it gives me a reason for this momma/wife to get out the door and do something for ME. To be alone with my thoughts and my demons to sort them out and get them out of the way before the day begins. It makes me feel so much better about myself. Cliche’, I know, but true.

In other news… I have a checkup with my ob/gyn tomorrow. This will be my first time to see him since the surgery. Maybe good ole’ Dr. Wilson will be able to give me some insight on whether or not my innards are working properly or not. Ha… that doesn’t sound right πŸ˜‰ I would appreciate any prayers for a good report.

Later. (I promise!)

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

5 thoughts on “Here I go again…

  1. Good read. I miss you and the other hooligans down south πŸ˜‰

  2. Praying for you. Good to see you back blogging! And running again . . .

  3. Jules i’m so happy things are on more of an even keel. You went thru a bad bout of depression …hormonal post op and grief over your tumor. If it happens again, grab some antidepressants FAST!!! Running a marathon??? Yeah!!! Nothin better to blow the cobwebs away!! I’ m so happy you’ re a band director– and a fine one!!. The jo b is open here finally..may try for it..crazy.huh?? Luv ya

    getting another total knee in july..fne was a yr ago..did great! Always thot of you as a “

  4. No way, I have a post with that same title. Love ya

Leave a Reply

