Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Spring means a fresh start

1 Comment

The most fantastic thing about living a life is the opportunities that we have, over and over again, to start anew. I am reminded of that as I sit here and drink my coffee on a Sunday morning.  Over this past month I feel I have finally recovered and become somewhat “normal” again. It may help that the hazy grey skies are being replaced by more brilliant blue ones and the trees have a lime green glow about them as they bud out their new leaves. I’ve never enjoyed Spring so much as I do this season. It is all about new beginnings.

The Man and I had pretty much given up hope on our current situation. His job was going nowhere fast and he needed to be somewhere his talents and sense of purpose could be utilized. His unhappiness was like a festering wound on his life, but also on our relationship. I have always told him that I would leave my career behind and follow him wherever we needed to be when the time came. I am not going to be a wife that holds her husband back for her own comfort. So, he resigned.

It’s a very scary position to have kids and cars and mortgages and only have one income, but we stepped out on faith that something was out there and it would be provided.

He landed a few freelance jobs. He searched openings in the East. He applied for a great opportunity in Austin… but then a short 140 character tweet about a new position being created in Ruston was posted on Twitter. The day of the interview I told him to tell them exactly what he wanted out of his work. What he was good at, what he enjoyed, what he wanted to get out of it…

It was exactly what they were looking for.

That’s God, people.

To think that within the two weeks of him resigning, a position that was not there was created in what seems to be almost specifically FOR him. To have him go on an interview on Thursday and wake up to an email offering him a job on Friday, his last day at work on his old job – we are truly blessed.

As it is, in these last few weeks a few family needs have been brought into the light. I am taking this all as a divine sign that we need to be here right now. I am thankful that I serve a God that is more wise than I 😉

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

One thought on “Spring means a fresh start

  1. I missed this post before. That’s a gorgeous pic of you and the sea . . .

Leave a Reply

