Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

What’s Up Wit Chu?

Leave a comment

I miss my blog. I’ve taken quite a break from it. To be honest, it has everything to do with not knowing how to segue back into a less-serious issue than cancer.

But here I am.

After a few weeks of “breaking in” the leg again to exercise, I am now full force into a scheduled exercise routine. It feels SO GOOD to be working out again. The Man and I are doing the 5×5 workout we were doing previously… just much lower weight for now. I’m looking forward to developing my routine into something I can really progress at. Love feeling strong.

Also slowly working on bringing running stamina back up to a 5k distance. Slowly.

Exercise is only half of the equation to a healthier Juli, though. Let’s talk about food…..

I gained…. oh…..  let’s be honest here…  I gained about 20 pounds during the STRESSFUL melanoma-laced winter of 2010. You know, whether or not you can fit in your skinny jeans just doesn’t matter anymore when you are dealing with a life-threatening disease. Comfort comes in many forms, but my comfort has always been food. And I found plenty of comfort this winter, lemmetellya.

But then. Oh Then. Well, my skinny jeans didn’t fit anymore. Then my regular comfy jeans didn’t fit anymore. Then my roomy work clothes were getting uncomfortably tight. Then I didn’t hardly fit in ANYTHING in my closet except for sweat pants and I had to make a run to to the store for the dreaded…..    wait for it…..  FAT JEANS!

If you are female, you know what I’m talking about. And it’s not a good thing.

So I had enough. I felt miserable. My self esteem was at a very low point. My mangled scar on my flabby thigh wasn’t helping anything. I needed a solution.

So I looked at my friend that had just lost over 60 pounds and said “Gimme some of what you got, girl!”. Well, not really, but I asked for more info on what she was doing and she gladly told me. Take Shape for Life by Medifast. Sign me up.

Now, I was a little hesitant on doing this program at first, as I am moving very quickly into a “whole foods/clean-eating” way of life. Although this program promotes that to an extent, it also uses dry products that come in a package – not very “whole”. But you know what? The way I was stress eating in the months before wasn’t all that clean either, so I accepted it has what it is..  a stepping stone for getting to where I want to be.

It’s working.

As long as I don’t cheat…

Today marks the completion of the 7th week on Medifast and I have lost 16.5 lbs. I’m sure it would have been more if I had not relaxed here and there, but I am happy with the results so far. I have also started kicking butt on this thing and have gone “off plan” less and less. We even took a trip out of town last weekend and I didn’t cheat. Go me. I want to lose 40. 23.5lbs to go, and I’m expecting a little better progress with my greater self control and increased exercise.

I have big plans for myself. I feel awakened to life in a whole new way. A greater appreciation. Quite frankly…. less time for bullshit. I’m focusing on what matters. The people that matter. The events that matter. I have a renewed craving for knowledge and spiritual peace.

I make this journey public on this blog, not to brag, not to preach, but to give a perspective. I will be honest. I share my struggles. I share my joy. There is a great world outside. There are great people in it. I want to find it for myself. I want to help you find it for yourself.

-Love

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

