Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

An Appointment with My Future

4 Comments

Monday went by in a flash, so that means it’s time to pack my bag and get ready to go to Houston tomorrow. At first, I was hopeful that I might be able to leave at 2:00pm, when my planning period starts. An hour earlier on the road to H-town makes for an easier trip. But that wasn’t to be, as I then realized we have our one pep rally of the football season tomorrow. Shoot! 😦 So I leave tomorrow after school. 3:30, 4:00 at the latest.

This thing on my leg has barely been introduced into my life and is already causing such a disturbance.

I call it “this thing”, because I’m secretly hoping we get down there and the oncologist says, “Your doctor and the quack she uses for a pathologist don’t have a clue what’s going on. You have a pink, itchy mole and there is nothing else to talk about here. Have a nice day!”.

Not, “Yes, you have cancer and we are going to dig and scoop and cut until we get it all out and then make you do weird tests and stuff to make sure it is not spreading anywhere else”.

Yeah, I like the first conversation a lot better.

Here goes nothing…

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

4 thoughts on “An Appointment with My Future

  1. Our love and prayers go with you. Sigh, we like the first conversation much better too. We love you!

  2. Juli, I am just caught up on all your posts, and I truly believe in my heart that God intervened and had you get “the spot” checked out. Cancer has touched the lives of my friends more than once recently, and while I don’t pretend to understand the “why,” I do know that God WILL get you through this. Adding you my Bible study prayer list, and sending you all the very best prayers I can offer up! – Carla

  3. I have only positive thoughts that “the thing” is NOTHING!!!! I’m with you in spirit and love!!!

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog and the well – wishes. I will definitely check back with you to see how your appointment went yesterday. Did they talk about doing a lymph node biopsy or doing a wider excision of the current site?

    I have to admit my surgery yesterday was hellish because of my mole’s (ex) location and required grafting from my upper thigh. Hurts like an SOB… they’ll be running another biopsy on that stuff too.

    Let’s both cross our fingers that we were diligent in getting things looked at early and now we just have to be uber aware of any future changes.

Leave a Reply

