Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

So Many Big Words

5 Comments

I have been reading and reading and reading today. Reading beautiful messages encouragement on Facebook that have made me cry. Reading blogs from others that have experienced what I am going through. Reading medical information until my eyes glaze over. So many big words….

  • atypical melanocytic proliferation
  • irregular hyperchromatic nuclei
  • amelanotic malignant melanoma

like I said, “blahblahblah”. Although now I feel as though I might actually start learning what they mean. I’m getting there. Quite a few of you wanted to know the details of my current prognosis, so I thought I would just give you all that I have so far. Maybe you can help me decipher 🙂

From that, what I can tell is that the cancer is deeper than what was cut off, but there is no way of knowing how much deeper until we look again.

Which brings me to my phone call.

I waited all day at school for Houston to call me, and at 2:45pm, they finally did. They confirmed my contact information. They asked me if I had a religious preference (I didn’t like this question at ALL because I know what it eludes to), and told me that I was to be there at 10am on Wednesday, October 13th.

Yes, Ma’am. I’ll be there.

So that is where I am at this moment. Still in a limbo of sorts. The first appointment will just be a consultation with my oncologist, Dr. Richard Royal. I’m not sure how much I will learn more about my little spot during this visit, but it will mean that I am on the right path to getting rid of it quickly. Hopefully.

Thanks again for all of the thoughts, messages, and prayers. It’s been quite humbling.

Love–

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

5 thoughts on “So Many Big Words

  1. 15 months of me and the Lord and I have gone through every emotion, many tears, anger, screaming, feeling guilty for thinking only about myself at times (most times) and asking why. Still there a lot of the time. Still can’t be with people a lot of the time. Poor Clay. Believe me the Lord can take it. And Clay does a great job too! I finally realized I don’t have to be brave or do or say what anyone wants to hear. I need and do, cry out to God and He doesn’t judge my behavior and I don’t have to perform for Him. My counselor told me don’t ask why, ask what. I have been working on that. Don’t know yet but that’s not my problem. When He says its time He will let me know (or not). The point is He’s God and when I can’t see His hand, I trust His heart. Just an encouragment to you–stay in His Word, going over and over His promises and just getting to know your precious Lord so much more. I know its harder for you with your family but ESSENTIAL for peace during the storm. We are always going through seasons of life. Here goes another one. This verse means a lot to me right now. It tells me how very much He loves me and cares about every little detail in my life. Nothing is too big for Him. He loves you so Juli holding you in the palm of His hand. There is nowhere on this journey that you will go that He is not already there. Ephesians 20,21 says: Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen. I love you so and I am so proud of you. If you want someone to scream and yell or whatever with, I’m here. Aunt Lisa

  2. Okay . . . now we know much more than we did. Must do some googling. Understand a lot of the words but want to know what they mean when put together in a long stream—-
    Strong tweet about “me, my music and my car”. Remember all the strength being sent to you and prayers uplifting you every minute every day. We love you lots!

  3. Just found your blog! Sad about the news, God will take care of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

