Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

A Change of Pace

2 Comments

I have been super frustrated with my physical fitness routine here lately. Although The Man and I have been steady weight-training 3x’s a week now for about 3 months, and I’m stronger than I’ve been in a long time, I still feel like the Stay Puft man’s ugly big sister. Why? Because of a severe lack of cardio, that’s why. I haven’t been running regularly for, well, forever. I can hardly believe that I completed a half marathon just 6 months ago. If you remember, my left foot was giving me quite a bit of trouble so I just laid off for a little while. Then it got hot. Then it got HOTTER THAN HELL!

And I’m not running in that junk. I’ll run in below freezing temperatures. I’ll mow the yard when it’s 104 degrees in the shade. I’m NOT, however, going to go run down the road and back and back and back and back while the weather is frying worms on my sidewalk. Sorry. It’s not going to happen.

Next option was to run on the treadmill at the gym, but we have been so strength-oriented there, I just didn’t have time before we had to get home to relieve the babysitter (my awesome mom!). So there I was. Getting strong and getting fat. Yuck.

I’ve gained about 6 lbs since I’ve relaxed on my cardio. I blame this entirely on liking food a little too much, and being used to the caloric allowances that running 4, 5, 6 miles at a time were affording me. Now that I’m not moving and shaking like I was, I still want to EAT like I was, and that’s not a good thing.

So – new plan!

I’m relaxing on the gym strength training and refocusing it here at the house with two different dvds. Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, and a pilates conditioning dvd. I’m going to take my 3 days at the gym and bust it on the ‘mill as much as I can.

So far, it’s working well. I’ve done one each of the videos (Shred made me soooooore), and today ran for 20 minutes strong. It felt good. I felt strong. I was bored. I hate the treadmill. I feel the change of pace will do me well for a little while.

On the food front, I pulled together a decent meal today with some food that was on it’s last legs here at the house.

What you see there is:

  • fried squash (sliced up, tossed around in one beaten egg, coated with a cornmeal+flour+salt+pepper+garlic powder, fried in olive oil till brown).
  • kale chips (kale is a dark leafy green. you know, the dark leafy green that every article and show you see is telling you to eat for your health. yeah, that’s it. pulled off the woody stem and tore into bite size pieces. sprayed with olive oil and shook on some Tony’s seasoning. baked in oven at 350 for 10 minutes until crispy. good with ketchup, too.)
  • baked macaroni (this was a complete throw-together as i didn’t have any planned out ingredients. I cooked a bag of mac, grated up the little bits of parmesan/romano/vermont cheddar cheese that i had in the fridge, tossed one egg into the cheeses and mixed it up well. added about a pound of ground venison that i had browned and seasoned yesterday, added one jar of homemade marinara and the noodles. mixed it up. put in a casserole dish with a little more grated parm on top. cook for 25 minutes at 350. done.

Served up with some homebrew and The Man got a slice of sweet sourdough bread. It was all good. I may or may not have had another helping of cobbler and ice cream 😉

Off to watch the Disc 3 of True Blood- season one. We are so behind.. but thanks to Netflix, we’ll be caught up in no time!

Night!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

2 thoughts on “A Change of Pace

  1. I wasn’t able to make it through the 1st season of true blood…is it worth pushing through?

    ~Alyssa

    • Ha… well, it’s kinda tough. Bad accents and all, it’s just a big soap opera. It cheap entertainment, though 🙂 Gives us something to do at the end of the day. It’s getting a little better as it goes along. The first episode was terrible…

Leave a Reply

