Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Skrimp and the bear

Leave a comment

Today was a quiet day. The girls stayed at their mawmaw’s last night and tonight, so it’s been rather calm around here. I have to admit that I enjoy days like this from time to time. To rememer the life I had before procreating, and imagine what it would be like if I didn’t at all. It’s peaceful. It’s quiet.

But it’s lonely, too. And I miss the lil’ buggers. I’ll get them back tomorrow afternoon.

In the meantime, I watched a movie…  by myself..

It was precious. No. Really. It was Precious, the movie.  A movie about a 16 year old Harlem mother of an in-bred downs child that lives with her abusive mother and is pregnant with another of her daddy’s babies. Yeah, it was a real upper of a film. Which is why I watched it by myself.

I do like Netflix. I’ll get a happier movie by Saturday 🙂

The Man came home from work and we headed to the gym. I freaking love weightlifting. I like to feel strong. Powerful. And no, I’m not getting hulk-like muscles. Women don’t bulk like men do unless they alter their hormones and junk. We women get toned and beautiful and can lift things and change a tire without asking for help.

I am women – hear me ROAR!

Or something like that. :/

After we’ve kicked our butts to exhaustion, we’ve added a “fun” little exercise called The Bear Complex to the end of our routine.

It’s actually a pretty good cardio workout to end the day with. And it hurts. It hurts so good.

We came back home and made up a quick yummy supper. Shrimp Salad!

I don’t normally buy shrimp because The Man only really likes buying them from the seafood market and they are expensive there and a pain in the butt to clean and get ready, but I talked myself into getting a bag of frozen peeled from Sam’s the last time I was there. We are on the lookout for all kinds of proteins nowadays!

Sauteed up with some homemade Cajun seasoning and a little butter.

Added some avocado, tomatoes, and artichoke hearts (which I haven’t decided if I like or not).

Sliced up some of my pumpernickel bread I made the other day. First time to make this and I’m telling you, it’s a keeper! Yum 🙂

Pretty good supper put together from freezer to table in under 20 minutes.

I believe we’ll be keeping the shrimp in stock from now on. It’s a low calorie/high protein ingredient that’s way too easy to thaw out and throw together something good in a short amount of time. Next will be some kind of pasta dish, I’m sure.

Time to go work on starting Eclipse. I want to have it read before I see the movie in a few weeks!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

