Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Summer begins

Leave a comment

My beautiful first born had her last day of kindergarten today. It was truly a bittersweet moment in time for me. My baby is becoming a wonderful little lady in front of my eyes. I’m doing my best to soak up every sweet second that I can, but I can’t help to think that it is all going by way too fast.

Time is funny that way.

How slow is a minute when you are watching the clock tick and tock? How do the hours drag by on a tired afternoon at work? How far away does the Christmas season seem when you are in a dead dog day of summer? Time is so very slow.

And then you blink, don’t you? We all have to blink. And it’s gone. Everything that you wanted to get over with and everything you wanted to freeze time for – it’s all gone. And you start a new life everyday. This has been me this past month especially. Time ticking so slowly and sneaking by me as quickly as possible.

Momma’s been busy. Tired. Hungry. Fat. Happy. Stressed. Worn.

But that’s over now. In a flash. And I’m ready to have summer break and worry about just me for a while. Of course, the Man and the kids and the dogs and the cats and the laundry and the groceries and the trash and all that, too. But me first for a while.

I’m having a fresh start tomorrow – I’ll tell you all about it 🙂

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

