Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Hey Hey Hey!

Leave a comment

Fat Albert says hello!

He just popped into my head! Look at that smile.. such a happy fella.

Anyway-

So it’s Monday, again. They always come back around, don’t they? Stubborn little boogers.

But I kicked this one in the big ole’ butt!

I have been struggling for a while now on being efficient with my time. At work, at home. At rest, at play. I never seem to find the right equation for balancing myself and my activities. Today, however, I rocked it out.

Despite the fact that we all, as in EVERYBODY, slept in till 7:05(!) this morning, everything about today seemed to click just right. Luckily my hair was workable so I was out the door and at school on time at 7:30am. Well, don’t tell the boss this, but I was in at 7:34 ;). I don’t feel bad for those four minutes at all though, I left my poor Man with the two kids and everything else and he was 30 minutes late and frazzled by the time he made it to work :(.

I really tried to be aware of where my time was being spent today. If I was doing an errand, I did it and came right back to my room. I filed away papers that have been stacking up on my desk. I paid bills. I ran copies that needed to be passed out. I checked my email and was done with the computer, not milling over things and mindlessly surfing. I taught all classes actively and productively (with the spunk that I have in September… not April when we are all tired of school). After picking up the girls after school, I came home and got back to work. Instead of killing two hours on the computer, I read down my blog reader over a cup of green tea then got back up and picked the house up. Had the house clean and the girls fed by the time my mom and The Man got here at 5:30.

Gym workout today included 5 sets of 5 reps of 105lbs on squats and 75lbs on bench press; inverse rows, pushups and planks. We went back to the house to do week 5 of The Man’s Couch to 5k program. Today was three 5 minute runs with 3 min. walk between with warm up and cool down. 32 minutes and 300 calories later, I was whooped. I am really enjoying running these, as I’m pushing my pace a little faster each time. Today’s 2nd 5 minute run was held at about 9:20min/mile!! Go us!

Came home and cooked up a really nice egg and asparagus frittata for supper and relaxed a little watching House on the dvr. Ahhhhhh. I love days like this!

*pats herself on the back*

It feels so good to be productive. And it feels good to be sitting in a (mostly) clean house. All that is left to do is the laundry that’s on the bed and then it’s nigh-night time!

Here’s to a wonderful part 2 tomorrow. I have a date with a girlfriend to go see a graduate saxophone recital. Par-tay! 🙂 Well, there might be a after-work-before-concert cocktail involved 😉

Goodnight!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

