Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

It’s all uphill from here.

1 Comment

I’m only human, right?

I’m having a “bad” last few days. No exercise and eating CHOCOLATE AND CARB CITY. No fooling anybody on what I’m going through, huh? 😉 Oh well. It’s life.

I get very very down on myself when I have a slump, as do most of us, I figure. I start spiraling down into the world of might-as-well-eat-everything-else-I-want-since-I-ruined-the-day-with-this-junk, and it’s all uphill from there. If there is one thing that I struggle with the most, that is it. Not beating myself up and tossing my hands up in the air and reaching for the closest bag of these…

And then….  15.79 seconds later…. feeling like…

Sorry for the graphic content. But this is a serious issue.

Because after I eat that – and feel like that – I don’t go run – and then I REALLY feel like this..

and then I cry and feel sorry for myself and vow to never do that again forever and ever and ever.

and you all know how that turns up, don’t you?

So. What am I going to do? What is going to flip the switch on this behavior? Well, I haven’t figured that out yet. I’ll have to get back with you on that one. Sorry for the disappointment 😉 In the meantime, physically I have GOT to set another fitness goal. Quick! Maybe TWO fitness goals. One I decided on tonight on the way back from lifting with The Man. By the end of the summer (or hopefully in the middle of it) I want to be able to do AT LEAST ONE PULL-UP. Yes, boys… just one. Put away that sarcastic tone please and listen up. Do you know how impossible it is for most females to do pull-ups? It’s just not in us. We don’t pee standing up and we don’t do pull-ups! But goshdarnit, I’m gonna give it my best (to the pull-up thing, not peeing erect).

I am starting to feel sooo much stronger since we started lifting 3 weeks ago. I’ve gone from squatting the bar (45 lbs) to squatting 90 lbs today. Muscle definition definitely starting to poke through here and there as well. If only I could get my diet under control…

Running is a struggle right now, I’m not gonna lie. I always find it harder once it starts getting humid. I would rather run in 35 degrees any day! I’m browsing race schedules though and trying to find something that peaks my interest. Got to find something soon!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

One thought on “It’s all uphill from here.

  1. I have to say this entry made me laugh! 15.79 seconds! Now I’ll say–remember how far you have come. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You are doing GREAT! Now, smile–and repeat after me, “I am a strong woman.” Yes, you are. One pull-up is a great goal. Maybe you could talk to Necie about some of the races where she is. It would be fun for y’all to do one together.

Leave a Reply

