Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Intensity

4 Comments

Alright. I’ve run a 5k and a half marathon this year and it’s only March. What to do now? I have discovered through this process that I function better as a human when I have a plan. I don’t necessarily have to stick with that plan 100%, but I do have to have a goal and an idea how to achieve it; otherwise, I pilfer away the days of my quickly disappearing youth with excessive TV watching and Cheetos eating.

I used to do that a lot – pilfer. Stealing away bits of my time with things that do not enrich my life. TV. I try not to watch that much nowadays. Lost, House, Biggest Loser, football games…  One or two hours maybe twice a week. Why waste your life watching other people live theirs? Whether in reality or make believe – it’s not YOUR life. Go make your own show. Cheetos. I freaking love Cheetos. Puffs. I admit to eating entire bags in one day. In one afternoon. They are just so darn easy to eat. But what the hell are they made of???  Cheetos didn’t grow from the earth. Cheetos don’t have a momma. Cheetos are not food. Cheetos are entertainment. Like TV. For your mouth.

They say there are three things you don’t talk about with other people; Religion, politics, and money. You usually are going to ruffle some feathers with one of those. I want to ruffle some feathers with food. I want to bonk people on the forehead and scream, “DO YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE EATING?”. I want to go back 10 years and bonk myself on the forehead. So many Americans have a messed up idea of what food is. Food is not a whole bunch of ingredients and chemicals mixed up together to resemble a food-like substance. That kind of “food” has been produced with some big corporations bottom line in mind. It has been processed, packaged, and marketed to the public as food for as long as most of us can remember. The problem is that we have now accepted this as the norm. Our taste buds and body are accustomed to eating these processed ingredients and sometimes become addicted to them. THIS IS NOT RIGHT.

Food should be natural. Food should come from the earth or have a mother. Food should have nutrients that no machine can “fortify”. Food is so much more than shape/taste/calories. It’s what it does to your body. How it fuels your body and helps it to heal and grow and maintain.

There is an awakening, if you will, of people that are starting to realize these ideas. So much more than the “granola-eating hippies” from before. This is a real problem, and real people are trying to bring change. I’m one of them.

Do yourself a favor and start doing some research of your own. Some good places to start would be:

Watch a movie Official Food, Inc. Movie Site – Hungry For Change?.

Read a book http://www.michaelpollan.com/indefense.php

Watch a TV show http://www.jamieoliver.com/campaigns/jamies-food-revolution

Let me know what you find out. Or ask me any questions you might have. Just think about it.

So back to Intensity – the title of this blog entry. My new plan is to up the intensity of my health for a little while. The husband and I are starting a new gym schedule with some hard lifting, I am upping the intensity of my running with intervals, and I am channeling my food choices for maximum weight loss for 3 weeks. Basically, I am kicking myself in the big-ole-booty! Looking forward to letting you know how it goes 🙂

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

4 thoughts on “Intensity

  1. I love your motivation. I was just think yesterday how I feed my children CRAP!!!! Made me sad! 😦 I need to change. Need to get settled. Need alot of things. Will focus on one thing at a time though….okay off the computer and on to bigger and better things. Love ya

    • Don’t worry, I ate most of your cookies while I was there so they wouldn’t go to your children 😉

      It’s little changes. And time. You can do it if you make up your mind. You’re a Johnson girl, you’re hard-headed enough:)

  2. Great post – I was wondering if you have seen this blog: http://fedupwithschoollunch.blogspot.com/

    A teacher is eating cafeteria food every day for a year to document what we are feeding our public school kids. – It’s pretty gross.

Leave a Reply

