Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Portland Shamrock Run

7 Comments

I had the pleasure of being invited by my sister and her boyfriend to join them in running the Shamrock Run in Portland, Oregon last weekend. This was the first 5k for my big sis, and I knew I wanted to join her as soon as she asked.

Yes, this is my “big” sister. My other “big” sister is tiny, too. I don’t know what to tell you except for my theory that my mother’s body knew that I was her last fetus and it supplied to me every growth hormone and amazon-woman gene it could find.

Yeah I just made that up.

After visiting the village of port-a-potties, we found where we were supposed to be.

There were a TON of people at this event. 26,000+ to be exact. There are 3 different races; 5k, 8k, and 15k. Our 5k had around 7500 runners.  Come time to start, we made our way into the thick of ’em.

It took around 15 or minutes or so to get to the start line after the gun. We were in the “10:00 and higher” corral towards the back of the pack.

You can see the START in this picture, as well as the timer to the left that says 13:08 on the gun time. The leaders of the race were more than 2/3rds done by the time this pic was taken 😦

I took my phone out about halfway through to take an action shot. This was the beginning of a big hill that took up most of the 2nd  mile. You can see that the congestion never really let up. The whole race was a constant traffic jam; swerving around slowpokes and being passed by speeders. It kept us on our toes for sure. Speaking of toes, we saw a girl running the whole way on her tippy-toes. How do you do that??? Why??

We finished around 36 minutes in. A normal pace for me and a good pace for sister’s first time. We actually did the last mile in 10:15, but the big hill killed us earlier on. As soon as we crossed the finish line we turned in our timer and headed to the water bottles. I took a picture of the timer because this was the first time I’d used one of these. It went around my ankle and I DIDN’T LIKE IT AT ALL! I like shoelace chips!

It was a great race and I’m very proud of my sister and how well she did the first time out (with hardly ANY training, by the way). I am looking forward to focusing my training for faster paces now that I am done with adding distance. Although I do have the idea of doing another half marathon at the end of this season in the back of my mind ;).

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

7 thoughts on “Portland Shamrock Run

  1. Great job! And nice read!!!! Love ya!

  2. i love that the port o pots say *clearwater* 😉

  3. You could come to San Antonio in the fall! I’m aiming for that to be my first 1/2.

Leave a Reply

