Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Banging my head against a WALL.

1 Comment

There is a good reason I haven’t blogged much this week —– IT SUCKED.

Tuesday’s treadmill 4 was the only time this week I felt like I had it, everything else has been completely off. From schedule to just the way my body feels. Off. I’m having that week. The week where you feel like you hit a wall and can’t get anything done. That’s where I’m at. So far, all my workouts have been fairly smooth and my progress has been steady. Not this week….

WALL.

Thursday’s 4 was rescheduled to Friday so The Man and I could go on a date. I don’t know if that was the reason, but after 10 minutes on the treadmill I was headed out the door back to the house. I wasn’t feeling it AT ALL. I figured it was just a bad day and looked forward to getting back into the rhythm on Sunday’s long run.

Well, today is Sunday, and my funk is still here. I went to Lincoln Parish Park to have new scenery to run to, but it didn’t help. I was aching all over and felt like I was carrying fifty more pounds on my body than usual. Every step was heavy and long. I took a little break after 2 miles to get some water and stretch, but I called it quits after 3. It just wasn’t working. I felt like I was going to injure myself if I pushed any further. I was defeated. Disappointed. Sad.

Resorting to my old ways, when I got home I drowned my sorrows in milk and chocolate no-bake cookies I had made for the girls yesterday. It was easy for me not to eat them yesterday, but today they were fair game. Now I feel terrible in more ways than one.

I really don’t know what is going on here. I don’t know if it is the weather front that has come through? The lack of sunshine and my self-diagnosed seasonal affective disorder? Boredom? Stress?

Or maybe just a funk?

I don’t really know what it is, but I am just going to declare this an off week ending on a bad day and start over again tomorrow. I’ve still got 6 weeks left till the race, and I know I will get out of whatever this is and bounce back stronger soon.

It’s 8pm, and I’m going to bed. The best way to end a bad day is to really just end it. Goodnight.

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

One thought on “Banging my head against a WALL.

  1. Take a deep breath, let it out slowly, and remind yourself that you have come so far. And you are a powerful person. A funky period is normal. This too shall pass. You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

