Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Nut Butters & Dog Devotion

Leave a comment

Happy Monday! It was a happy one for me because I am still on vacation, my two girls are home with me, and The Man took off today and tomorrow to be with us (and to do other man things, but I will believe it was just to be with us). He’s a good guy, I think I might keep him.

We each took a youngster and headed out on errands early in the late morning. Remember, we are on vacation. We are sloowww moving creatures right now. I took some Christmas money and tried on dozens of shoes in a couple of stores and finally found me a new pair. They’re Mizuno’s. Ever heard of ’em? Me neither. I’m doing research as I type 🙂 No picture because I forgot until right now, but I run tomorrow so I’ll let you know all about them tomorrow.

Other than shoes (and some laundry), the only other significant thing I did today was make butter.

Nut Butter.

Yum – Eh.

Let’s start with some peanut butter. I have had this bag in my pantry since this summer and it was time to do something with it. I can’t remember how much I picked this up for, but I have a feeling it was on sale at Walmart for $1.50.

Just and ‘ole bag of peanuts. Roasted.

Shelled those suckers watching Dragontails and Mickey Mouse Playhouse. Oh, yeah.

Here’s where the fun starts. I got a new food processor for Christmas. Thank you, Santa. I think I’m in love.

Put the little fellers in and push “ON”. That’s pretty much it. Oh, and about a tablespoon of oil (I used olive) and a pinch of salt.

And there you have it. Peanut Butter. I put it in a plastic container and stuck it in the fridge.

You’d think I’d be done now. But you’d be wrong. The Man got a pretty good present for Christmas this year, too.

I think I was happier than him to see the contents of this lovely bag.

PECANS! Oh, yum. I believed I’ve mentioned before how much I adore pecans. So, I was thinking….  “nut butters are so easy, I wonder how pecan butter would turn out?”.

So I shelled ’em and toasted ’em….

And then did my thing with ’em…

Oh, mercy me. This is heaven. I can’t wait to use this many, many, many different ways. I started by smearing it on some spent grain bread (I promise, I’m getting close to telling you what that is, exactly).


So. Good.

And then, since it’s Monday, I proceeded to try to do my deep stretching, as that is what is scheduled for today. I unrolled my floor mat, plopped myself in front of Monday Night Football, and started pretending to be Gumby.

Until…

Scout, my 12 year old canine daughter, decided that my mat looked like a pretty good place for her to rest. I thought it was cute at first.

Every time I would shift, she would just move to the spot that just opened up.

We had to have a heart to heart about the matter…

It didn’t seem to work. She just snuggled more.

She’s 12. She’s stubborn. She’s hard-headed. She gets it from her human mother. I got up when I was finished, and two minutes later, this is what I found.

Me too, Scout. I’m tired. Goodnight, y’all.

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

