Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Whew, I made it… kinda.

1 Comment

It’s been a pretty tough week for training, I just have to say. Christmas was beautiful and wonderful and happy. And full of cookies.

And deliciously chewy soft yeast rolls.

And peanut butter candy.

And cold, windy, shortened days that are not inviting AT ALL to someone who hates being cold.

My only workouts this week were Tuesday’s 3.5 miles (that I hated) and today’s long run of 6 miles (that I hated even more). I won’t run my long runs on the same road as I did today ever again, I will tell you that. Too many hills! I was dying and wanting to quit only halfway through. I think I would have if I wasn’t 3 miles away from my house. In order for to be able (physically and mentally) to run 7 miles next Sunday, I am going to have to find a better route. That’ll be my homework this week 🙂

Knowing that I can’t wear my stretchy sweatpants when I go back to work in 8 days, I have cleaned up my eating since Christmas wrapped up (pun intended). Juli’s little vacation from reality on Lazy Sugar Island is over. Hopefully for good. No temptations in the way for months and months and months. I’m excited and ready to rock n’ roll.

Speaking of Rock n’ Roll…  it’s 3 weeks down, 9 to go till the Rock n’ Roll Mardi Gras Marathon in New Orleans. Egads!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

One thought on “Whew, I made it… kinda.

  1. You’ll make it. We’re all pulling for you! And I have tahini. Wish I’d known you needed it. I would’ve brought you some. Big hummus fans here. Yum!

Leave a Reply

