Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

Break.Start.Go.

Leave a comment

So….  as happens after I have achieved something I work so hard to accomplish, I took a break. After my 10k almost TWO WEEKS ago, I maybe have run 3-4 times. And don’t ask about my eating patterns. Ugh. I reminded myself of the Pillsbury Doughboy the other day after I squeezed into my britches. I poked my tummy, but I didn’t laugh 😦

This is my life.

And this is why I run.

Now that I have completed the 10k, the obvious step for me, with my personality, is to go to the next goal as quickly as possible. No more of this lazy potato chipping and cookie nonsense! And, by the way, WHAT WAS WITH my school having fresh hot doughnuts in the teacher’s lounge for TWO DAYS in a row!!???!!!  My mojo was weak. I succumbed multiple times.

Moving on….

I signed myself up for a half the day after I got back from Hot Springs.

Yeah. A Half.

As in, Half Marathon. Wow. I know, right? But it’s just the next logical step for me. Something to keep me focused and on-task. I’m doing this one….. The Inaugural Rock ‘n Roll Mardi Gras Marathon. It’s in New Orleans (duh) on the last Sunday in February. That gives me 12 weeks from this coming Monday to train. I think I can do it. We’re gonna see.

Hal Higdon and his training plans are pretty much where it is at for long-distance running. I’m going to give him a shot.

I really, really want to do this.

Really.

To motivate me and to keep me honest, I’m going to document the whole training process on my blog. That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, you get to see it all right here. The WHOLE THING. The sweat, the tears, the food, the lack of sleep. This will be a tough three months. Wow. THREE MONTHS. Which, by the way, happen to be a very busy three months at work as well.

It’ll be loads of fun for all.

I’m actually wanting to transfer the stress energy I take from work and use this training as a way to release it. That’ll be a process in itself, I’m sure.

I’ll also have little moments like these to relieve stress as well…

See you soon 🙂 I start on Monday!

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

Leave a Reply

