Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

How’s your balance?

1 Comment

One of the most important lessons I have learned in the last few years is that my life must have balance. It’s not something that I have mastered, but I’m working on it everyday. A balance between eating the local greasy pizza, and baked tofu with brown rice. The balance between working out constantly, and stopping to put my butt on the couch. You get the idea.

The more and more I work on balance, however, the more I realize that this is an idea that a whole lot of people just don’t get. We have made ourselves into an All or Nothing society.  You either eat healthy, or you don’t. You are active, or you are a couch potato. You spend every second catering to people, or you are selfish. This is the way a lot of people think, and I think  it’s a load of crap. It’s an approach to life that sets up failure as a constant. Eat healthier for a week. Have a brownie in the break room. Fail diet. Eat super-sized fast food for the next three meals straight because you messed up diet.

Forget that. It was a brownie.

Live your life in balance. It’s not all or nothing. It’s everything. Everyday. It’s knowing how to listen to your body and what it really needs. If you are exhausted, sleep. If you are hungry, eat. If you are bored, knock out some projects on your “to do” list. It is easy to fall into a trap of eating for energy to stay awake (candy, sweet coffee drinks), over-eating when we are hungry (huge portions that could feed a family of four), and eating for entertainment (4 o’clock ice cream, potato chips, and a 2 liter in front of the tv).

Eat the brownie. Enjoy it. Then go for a walk.

And then, refrain from going to get another brownie, as I would think about doing at this point.  Hey, I said I was working on it ; )

The last bit of balance that I want to talk about relates to my marriage. If The Man and I have any clue about how to make this thing work out, it’s the idea of letting each other have their own “alone time”. Sure, it’s romantic to think about having  someone who wants to be with you 24/7 and wants to know everything about you and yada yada yada. And I think that is an important part of the new relationship. However, we both know how to look the other in the eye and say, “I’m going to town. Be back later. Need to get outta here. Love ya, bye”. It’s just good to get out for a bit. Collect your thoughts. Enjoy doing whatever in the world you feel like doing, then go home to welcoming smile.

That’s balance. And it keeps my marriage chugging right along.

Tonight was my night for a minute of peace. I took a jog down the road and back, and wasn’t quite ready to let go of my “alone” time yet. Told the man what I needed to have, then promptly hid away in the bedroom for about an hour. It was nice. While I was doing all of that, he was doing all of this…..

blackened fish

What you see there is one of the best meals I have had in this house. And certainly one of the best “healthier” meals. I had pulled some catfish filets out of the deep freezer this afternoon. These were caught on one of our local lakes earlier in the year.  After some rubbing with The Man’s homemade cajun spice mix, he blackened them on the cast iron with a little olive oil. Topped with cooked tomatoes and my Peach Salsa I made this summer, it was truly delicious.  Brown rice and basil green beans finished off the plate.  Yum.

And yes, this picture was taken while I was sitting on my red leather chair, in front of the tv, in the dark.

There’s nothing wrong with that.

Balance 🙂

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

One thought on “How’s your balance?

  1. Balance is a tricky little bitch. Just when you think you’ve got her cornered, she streaks away again, dragging you along toward a plate of brownies and peanut butter.

    I don’t like the idea of an all or nothing society, but it’s certainly what we have. Life was never meant to be lived in black and white.

Leave a Reply

