Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

The Oregon Trail, Day 1

4 Comments

IMG_3650

There was a clear bluebird sky today as we set out on our journey. A five-day trip across 7 states and 2500 miles. The bright yellow moving truck was packed to the gills and heavy, but I am quickly becoming a (self-proclaimed) pro at navigating it.

I’m pretty tired, but I wanted to share a few pictures before I called it a day. This country is such a diverse place. It was the big expanse of Texas today.

IMG_3660

I had to take a closer look at the massive wind turbines working so diligently with the hot west Texas wind. They look like something a spaceship came and placed on Earth. Right in the middle of a cattle pasture. I think I could have sat there for hours and stared at them.

wind

wind2

It would be fair to say that the wind machines were the most interesting part of the trip. Well. Save for one little sighting of something quite peculiar. One of those things that will always make a road trip superior to a quick flight on a plane. Something that catches your eye and makes you slam the brakes on a very heavy, loaded down Penske moving truck so you can make a quick u-turn to see again.

Something like this.

girls1

Closer look? Yes. That’s two bikini’d mannequin chicks living the good life. Checking out the oncoming traffic on Hwy 287N. ¬†Carry on, America. Carry on.

girls

Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

4 thoughts on “The Oregon Trail, Day 1

  1. Love the mannequins in the Caddy. Eccentricity makes me happy.

  2. I know exactly where that is and if you went through Childress, you’re really I’m my neck of the woods.

  3. That individual has been doing that for at least 30 years, possibly longer. Once the weather becomes spring/summery, he puts the Caddie and the girls on display. No one knows why.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers