Bless My Heart

the improvement of a southern girl

One Week Post-Op

3 Comments

Thank you all for the messages and comments that were sent after my last post. They were all very encouraging “virtual hugs” that were much-needed and appreciated. I feel much better just getting the feelings out of my head.

The week has been slow, slow, slow. My pain medication makes me feel better than I really am, so I mess around and pick something up or clean something that I shouldn’t and BAM, back to the couch with an ouch! I’m learning and taking it slower. I try to take the dog on a little walk each morning. The first day we got about 100 ft. Today was the 3 attempt and we got about 2/10 of a mile. Ha! I start with great intentions, but then I feel my belly start aching and we turned around and head home like a barn sour horse. Looking forward to longer walks, though. I think that is key in a good recovery.

I am super excited about it being the weekend now. The Man worked hard all week long, so I was pretty much on my own this week. That was okay during the day, but a 4pm when the girls got off the school bus, it got real – real quick. Last night was a desperate supper of fish sticks and ketchup. Awesome for the girls. Not so awesome for me. We got through it though, and Jerod has promised to help me out as much as he can this weekend. Good man. :)

Things to look forward to:

  • My sister (and BIL) is flying in tomorrow from Oregon. They’ll be here for a week. Whoop, whoop!
  • Cold front is coming in tonight. I expect to wake up to a little more Autumn-ish weather. Is it sad that I’ll probably go to bed early tonight just so I can get to my morning cup of coffee on the deck that much quicker?
  • One week closer to be done with recovery ;) I’m ready to get this behind me and go for a bike ride!
Author: blessmyheart

I'm like any other 30-something woman that works full time as a teacher, has two kids, a husband, 3 pets, and has battled cancer. ...among other things. I have things to say, sometimes. This is where I say them.

3 thoughts on “One Week Post-Op

  1. Glad to see you’re in a little better place this week. Writing is a wonderful way to clear things from your head so your brain can rest a little. I don’t talk about my hurts and disappointments either, but writing them is easy and helps so much. I, too, am looking forward to the “cold” front moving through. I don’t feel like I can rightfully drink my Pumpkin Spice K-cup when there’s a Heat Advisory issued. Hang in there and TAKE IT EASY so you don’t set yourself back in recovery time!!!!!!!

  2. Remember – slow and steady wins the race. I’m sure those band kids are anxiously awaiting the return of “their” director. Let them help out around the room. You might be developing another you when you do that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers